Prezi Presentation Software

exchange clubWhen I am not the innkeeper at the Munro House Bed and Brekafast, I am a member of the Exchange Club in Hillsdale, Michigan. We are a service organization with a national cause of child abuse prevention. Locally, we honor local students and volunteers, build things, donate time, and do good deeds.

Every year, we seek out well-displayed American flags. We give an award called “Proudly We Hail” to a local individual and a business for displaying the flag. It sounds pretty basic, but there is a lot more to it. I think everyone has heard of the Flag Code, but just what is it? I really didn’t know either, so I looked it up online and found some very interesting stuff to share with my group.

I started out with a PowerPoint presentation and was pretty proud of myself because PowerPoint is not one of my most familiar software programs–I did a fine job. I was testing out my presentation with my friend Andrea when she mentioned that it would be so much cooler to do the same presentation using Prezi. PreziI had never heard of Prezi. Andrea is a school teacher and is up on all the current trends, especially in the technology world. She directed me to Prezi.com where they have some free software.

I checked it out and completed my 100+ page presentation in one night. It was so easy, and fun. Instead of having a separate page for all of my slides, I just have one big map. On this map are a series of smaller slides that can be linked together. It is kind of like going on a long trip from city to city. You choose the route, and Prezi takes you there one stop at a time. Prezi ToolEach slide can be as big as you like or as small as the dot on an “i”. The Flash Player navigation automatically zooms you in or out to the next slide on your predetermined route. Slides can be easily rotated, moved, expanded, or compressed with a single tool. Moving from slide to slide gives a feeling of motion or progress as you travel around the map.

I finished my Flag Code Presentation and looked at the grand map. It was a rectangular mish-mash of information. As I thought about it, I realized that I could resize arrange my slides into the shape of the United States of America without having to adjust the itinerary–it was already locked!  How cool!Flag Code Map

Today, when I make my presentation to the group using Prezi, I will begin with the projector on. My audience will be able to see a bunch of red, white, and blue flags, along with other pictures, words, and paragraphs on what looks like a map of the USA. As we start the presentation by zooming in to different areas of the map and traveling along my scheduled itinerary, I hope to keep them interested in my speech and engaged by the information. At the end of the day, we all have a larger appreciation for the symbolism and thought that went into developing the flag code. I am sure that there is a lot about displaying the flag of which we didn’t have a clue but will realize and appreciate after my presentation.

It was actually fun to put this slideshow together. The learning curve was very small, and I impressed myself with the results. Prezi is easy to use, easy to learn, and fun to present. I am looking forward to my first public display using this new software and hope I will have the opportunity to create something for a future engagement.

Published in: on June 9, 2009 at 7:56 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrohouse.wordpress.com/2009/06/09/prezi-presentation-software/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

