Adam Lambert on American Idol Part 5 Disco Week

adam-lambert-discoThis week was Disco Week on American Idol. The singers chose dance songs from the late 70’s and erly 80’s. Two singers are in big trouble, two are safe, and three could go either way.  Adam Lambert is safe.  His rendition of “If I Can’t Have You” by Yvonne Elliman from the “Saturday Night Fever” soundtrack was outstanding. He took an upbeat dance song and turned it into a slow heartbreaking ballad. I thought he might shed a tear during his performance. Paula Abdul almost did, too. All the judges gave him props.

Kris Allen is safe, too. He is improving every week and is slowly making his way into the top two. He took a classic Donna Summer song, “She Works Hard for the Money”, turned it around, made it an original, and blew me away.

Lil Rounds and Matt Giraud were in the bottom 2 last week, Matt was saved, and they both may be leaving on Wednesday. Neither impressed me with even a bit of originality or personality and should be the bottom vote getters again.  I hope that the “save” card that was played last week does not come back to haunt the excellent singers who will remain after tonight’s vote. Only one save can be used during the season, so I hope America gets it right and doesn’t dump a front runner this week or next.

Danny Gokey, Alison Iraheta, and Anoop Desai did not blow me away, but they all proved that they can sing.  I hope America agrees that they will round out the best 5 singers left in the competition.

americanidol3Adam and Kris gave me a performance I wasn’t expecting and impressed me very much.  Adam nailed his disco rendition and gave me something special like he does every week. Kris has been improving every week and his song on Disco week was a very pleasant surprise. Right now, based solely on their latest performance, these should be the last 2 standing in the competition. I’m, just one guy sitting on the couch at the Munro House rooting for my favorite contestant, Adam lambert.

Published in: on April 21, 2009 at 9:53 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrohouse.wordpress.com/2009/04/21/adam-lambert-on-american-idol-part-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

