Get Lucky on Friday the 13th (Part 2)

In 2009, Friday the 13th fell in February. Because February is usually a 28 day month, the following month of March will also have a Friday the 13th.  This is a rare opportunity to celebrate consecutive Friday the 13ths! We thought it would be cool to turn the tables on the superstitious, and make something good happen on a bad luck day by offering a great deal on a one night stay. 

friday-the-thirteenthAt the Munro House Bed and Breakfast in Michigan, we want to help you get lucky on Friday the Thirteenth?  Call us, and we will do our part to make a romantic weekend getaway happen for you. Arrive to your chosen room to find a dozen roses floral arrangement and a selection of Joseph Schmidt Chocolate Truffles.  Both of you will also enjoy dinner for 2 at the Chicago Water Grill in downtown Jonesville.  Wake up to a big country style breakfast on Saturday morning before heading home. 

Friday the 13th Getaway with Chocolates, Roses, and Dinner is just $222 in a Queen or Fireplace Room, $272 in a Jacuzzi Room per couple.  Up to $344 value. To reserve via phone call 1-800-320-3792 or by cell at 1-517-849-9292.

Marcello from Ecuador – Bed and Breakfast Guest in Michigan

I like to travel and meet the local people in the places I visit.  Since we bought the Munro House Bed & Breakfast in Michigan, we don’t travel as much as we used to.  We have to rely on people from far away places to visit us.

We had a nice young couple from Chicago in last year. Over breakfast I discovered that Marcello had met her in college and that he came here from Ecuador.  I had to laugh at the thought of someone from Ecuador coming to America and of all the places to visit, he ended up in Jonesville, Michigan.

ecuador1Well, it was a blessing for me, and I hope it was fun for him, too.  I found it facinating to learn about his home country.  The thing that surprised me the most is that the national currency in Ecuador is the American dollar!  I just assumed that every country or region had their own monetary system.  To learn that they used our currency was facinating.

We continued talking about life in general and he told me that most of the employment in Ecuador is with oil companies or banana plantations.  I have never seen a banana tree in real life.  I seem to remember seeing a National Geographic special about monkeys, where they plucked the fruit from a tree, but I had never really thought about the business of growing bananas.

Marcello told me that a banana tree has a trunk from which a single branch emerges and produces the fruit in huge bunches.  As the fruit grows, the branch leans from the weight.  A plantation has many rows of trees much like any other farm.  When it comes time to harvest, the workers chop off a clump weighing about 100 pounds and carry it to a central trolly system where they hang it on a hook and push it to the warehousing area.

I guess I could have looked all of this up on the internet, but I like having people take the time to tell me about the common things in their life and some information about where they are from.  Every week I am thankful for the interesting people who make their way to our small town in South Central Michigan to enjoy our hospitality and life away from the big city.  I love my peeps!  Marcello was pleasantly surprised at how comfortable and welcoming a B&B in a small town in America can be. 

Life is good in Jonesville.