Mike Venturini – Collecting State Quarters

Michigan Quarter

Michigan Quarter

Back in 1999, American 25 cent pieces were redesigned to honor each state as it entered the Union starting with Delaware.  New coins for all 50 states were issued over the next 10 years with a mint mark for Denver and Philadelphia.  The final coin in the set honors Alaska.  In total there are 100 different quarters.

My brother gave me a commemorative quarter folder for my birthday in 2008 and I started collecting. I do not collect these coins agressively.  I check my pockets a few times a week and the coins are reviewed to see if they will fit in my folder.  It’s been over 6 months now and I have collected 68 of 100 coins. To my surprise, I have none of the first coin issued–Delaware.  You’d think that the oldest of the coins would be the easiest to find.  In the case of Delaware, it’s not.

Delaware Quarter
Delaware Quarter

I have completed the 2001 set, but there are holes in all the other years.  It’s been fun collecting them and it’s fun to see the order in which they come into my possession.  I’m betting that Delaware will be the last to be acquired in my collection.

Published in: on February 11, 2009 at 12:56 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrohouse.wordpress.com/2009/02/11/mike-venturini-collecting-state-quarters/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

