Movies – Gran Torino

Clint Eastwood Gran Torino

Clint Eastwood Gran Torino

I remember my first Clint Eastwood movie. I was in grade school, my brother was in high school, and for some reason, he took me to see “A Fistful of Dollars”. Westerns were really big back then and I had never heard of Clint Eastwood. Since then, I have seen many Clint Eastwood movies, and I have never been disappointed. So, when “Gran Torino” came to town, it was a must-see movie for me.

It’s the story of a crotchety, old, bigoted ex-marine who is the last white man in an integrated neighborhood. He drops his share of F-bombs and racial slurs in a comical sort of way while interacting with his new neighbors. I was surprised that the context in which the language was used became more amusing than derogatory. The flick told an excellent story and had a good message. It was one of a few five star movies I have recently rated in my movie review diary.

Most of our guests at the Munro House have gone to see “Gran Torino” over the past couple of weeks. It has been a wonderful topic of conversation over breakfast at our house.  Our most popular single night getaway package is called the One Night Stand.  Basically, it’s dinner and a movie plus bed and breakfast.  We are all so busy these days that sometimes we can only getaway for a single night and we are one of the few B&Bs that offer a one night stay on most weekends. Lately, lots of people have been talking about “Gran Torino” after a one night stand at our house.

Published in: on February 6, 2009 at 2:27 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrohouse.wordpress.com/2009/02/06/gran-torino/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

