Mike & Lori – Why do I blog?

I have meant to keep a diary since Lori and I came to own the Munro House B&B in Jonesville, Michigan, back in 1999.  Back then, the internet was still pretty new and blogging was not invented.  A lot of people dream of owning a B&B for many different reasons.  My main reason is the lifestyle–which includes the opportunity to have a quality conversation with people from all over.  To keep a log of these interesting experiences has been on the back burner for 10 years.  I heard about blogging at a conference 3-4 years ago.  I have meant to get involved, but finally decided to start blogging today.

A business like mine caters to the traveling public.  On a regular basis, I get to meet people, face to face, from across the country and around the world–without leaving my house!  Everyone has a story, and I like to hear them.  Since 1999, we have tracked guests from all 50 states and over 60 countries.

Last year, two of my more exotic guests were from Ecuador and Muldova.  When was the last time you got to have breakfast with someone from Ecuador?  Can you find Muldova on a map?  My job as an innkeeper allows me to enjoy other cultures from the comfort of my great old house. 

My intention is to create an online diary about life as an innkeeper.  I plan to write about the people who come to my house–who I will refer to as my “peeps“–along with news of upcoming events, a review of those events, home projects, and the challenges of being self employed as the owner of a Michigan bed and breakfast.

Life is good in Jonesville,

Mike Venturini

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://munrohouse.wordpress.com/2009/02/03/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

